In a bizarre bit of mapmaking, our General Assembly has decided to split Dare County in two. It puts the towns of Duck, Southern Shores and Kitty Hawk in House District 1 and all the other towns in House District 79. It even splits Kill Devil Hills in two, with 265 blocks in HD1 and the remaining 12 blocks in HD 79.

League of Women Voters of Dare is offering to work with local officials to change this action. We are one Dare County—and proud of it.